Credentialed Community Language test

The Credentialed Community Language (CCL) test is a testing and assessment service related to migration and other government services. This service is separate from NAATI certification and cannot be considered as a NAATI credential.

As part of certain points-based visa applications made to the Department of Immigration and Border Protection, individuals who pass the NAATI Credentialled Community Language Test can claim Credentialed Community Language (CCL) points (sometimes referred to as the ‘five bonus points’).

NAATI’s work enhances the translation and interpreting industry’s competitiveness and contributes to a community demand for everyone to be able to communicate and interact with each other.

Test Format


Starting your Interpretation test is just a step away.

NAATI CCL, so basically it’s an interpretation test where you have to do the interpretation from english to your native language and your native language to english.

Format of the CCL Test:

This test consists of two dialogues - 300 words each / 45 marks each
Dialogue interpreting (90 Marks)
And to pass the test you have to score an overall score of 63/90 to pass the exam
Candidates may take notes during the test
The use of dictionaries or other references aids is not permitted in this test

Some Facts

What's the difference between a translator and interpreter?

Translators deal with the written word. They translate written text from one language to another. Interpreters deal with the spoken word or signed languages.

How much work will I get as a translator or interpreter?

This depends on a number of factors, such as the demand for the particular language,your certification type and your skill. Some language communities may be quite small.

I will earn as a translator or interpreter?

This will depend on many things, such as the demand for the particular language, and your skills and experience.

How do I become a translator or interpreter?

Many agencies and employers will require you to have current NAATI certification before they give you any translating or interpreting work.

Important Points

CCL Test

Applications to sit a CCL Test must be submitted online via the NAATI website. Individuals will also need to attach a passport photograph and a scan of an appropriate identity document (e.g. passport) to apply. CCL tests are marked by at least two trained examiners


You will be judged on your ability to transfer the meaning between two languages. You will be marked for your style, clarity and successful translation between the languages. You will lose marks for omission or addition of new ideas while translating.

During Test

In case you miss out on some dialogs,you can ask the instructor to replay the recordings. In this case, a total number of 2 repeats will be allowed for the entire test. If you translate wrong and wish to correct it, you must say “Sorry, Correction” before changing to the corrected word.



Courses Available

Scroll to Top